TEEN AND ADULT ROAD TESTING
DPS Authorized Road Test Provider
AVA Driving School is authorized by the Texas Department of Public Safety to administer the Road Test for Driving Skills.
Any Teen or Adult who has completed either Teen Driver Education (Classroom and Behind-the-Wheel) or Adult Driver Education (6-Hour) and meets the requirements for testing may take the Road Test with AVA Driving School.
Teens must be 16 years old and have held a valid Learner's License for at least 6 months. On the back of the Learner's License card is the Graduated Driver License eligibility date. "Must hold valid Learner's License to 00/00/0000". Students from any driving school are welcome to drive the Road Test at AVA Driving School.
Texas State Law requires all applicants to watch and listen to the Impact Texas Teen/Young Drivers program presenting Survivor's stories and Public Service Announcements concerning Texting and Driving. Simply answer the straight-forward questions about the Lessons to receive your certificate. Anyone taking a Road Test must present the certificate together with the valid Learner's License. The certificate is good for 90 days.
BOOK ROAD TEST
Valid Learner's License
Final DE964 (Green Certificate issued to Teens from Driving School upon request)
Car Insurance Card.
If the insurance excludes drivers not listed on the policy, the student cannot drive the car for the Road Test. AVA Driving School may rent the student a car for the Road Test at the school.
Properly completed 30-Hour Driving Log for Teen Student.
Current (good for 30 days, 90 days in summer) V.O.E. attendance from from the student's High School.
Payment $50 for two Road Test Opportunities
$25 for rental use of AVA Driving School car at driving school only
Vehicle Inspection at AVA Driving School includes:
Texas Vehicle Insurance Card
Current Vehicle Registration Windshield sticker (Texas License Plates) –valid TX inspection
Texas metal License Plates properly fastened front and back, or unexpired TX dealer paper on back
All lights operational including both license plate lights
No loud muffler (See TX Driver Handbook)
No dark tint on windshield past AS1 (approx. 7")
Copy of receipt if paid online
Book your Road Rest Today
Upon passing the Road Test, the examiner will issue the student a Sealed Envelope containing the Road Test Score Sheet, the ITTD, the DE964 and the V.O.E. required by DPS. As soon as possible, take the sealed envelope to DPS with your Parent, your valid Learner's License, your Social Security Card, $11-$25 DPS fee, 30-hour log and 2 proofs of residence 30 to 90 days old. DPS may than issue to you your Driver's License. If paying with credit card, the owner of the credit card must be present for payment.