Driver's Ed for Teens
Teenagers between the ages of 15-18 can earn their driver's licenses through our 46-hour course for teenagers (32 classroom hours + 14 in-car hours).
Teen Driver Education
Driver Education for ages 14-18 (or more) consists of 16 days of classroom training (2 hours per day and 7 hours of in-car driving and 7 hours of in-car observation.
Teen Driver Education Course includes:
32-hour Classroom Instruction
7 hours In-Car Driving
7 hours In-Car Observing
On-line Scheduling System for Driving/Observing
Parent of Student must sign an enrollment contract at the school on or before the first day of classroom instruction in order to complete the registration process.
The State of Texas allows no more than 10 hours missed during classroom instruction. Absences can be made up promptly with a make-up packet or by attending another session.
Easy Payment Plan available: First payment due (half) on or before first hour of classroom instruction. Second payment due by 2nd week of classroom instruction.
We accept Credit and Debit (Visa and MasterCard) and/or cash.
For Students 15-17 year olds
To get your Learner's License, take the following to any DPS:
Green Certificate (DE964) from AVA Driving School
V.O.E. form (form must be processed by public/private school administrators) good for 30 days, 90 days in summer
Original Birth Certificate
Original Social Security Card
Student and Parent/Legal Guardian
Glasses/Corrective lenses, if needed, in order to pass Vision Test at DPS
$16 cash, check, money order or Credit/Debit card ($25 for 18 and over)
Two different Utility Bills for the household ex. Light and Water* (both bills must be under the same name and between 30-90 days old) *checking acct. statement, car insurance, credit card statement, paycheck stub, W-2, cable or satellite bill.
That's the Verification of Enrollment form that DPS requires as part of your application for a driving permit. Check out this blog post for more info.
For teens ages 14-18, we offer the standard course required by the state of Texas. It's 46 hours long, with 32 hours in the classroom, and 14 hours of in-car instruction (7 hours of driving, 7 hours of observing).
The cost of the course is $325 for 2020.
Course must be paid-in-full by the first day of class.
Why, yes we do! Click here to check out our online affiliate, Curb Buster, for more information.
What class days and times work best for your schedule? Weekends only? Weekday nights? Two nights a week? We'd love to hear from you so we can create schedules that better accommodate your needs. Please take our survey if you'd like to give us some feedback.
Get your permit or license, sign up for driving hours
FAQS FOR CURRENT STUDENTS
Teens who have completed Driver's Ed, listen up!
AVA Driving School is now a Third-Party Skills Test Site. If you're a teen who has completed all of your Driver Education classroom, drives and observations, you can take your road test here at AVA Driving School with a DPS authorized Examiner.
It's convenient and efficient. You can schedule your road test for your full license. You can schedule an appointment on any day of the week.
Please call us to ask about pricing and let us schedule your Road Test at a time that's convenient for you.